22 Issues Later: Editor Says Farewell

How The Promethean Enhanced My Siena Experience

By Christopher Hannmann

 

         It is hard to believe my tenure as editor in chief of The Promethean has come to an end.  While it is a very bitter sweet feeling to graduate and relinquish my position as editor in chief, I feel that I have maximized my time at Siena and know that The Promethean has played a significant part in preparing me for life after graduation.  

            For anyone who knows me, they know that The Promethean has been at the core of my life at Siena.  If it is a Monday or Tuesday night and it is a “newspaper week”, my friends know that I’ll be working late in the Promethean Office.  Some often tell me that I’ve been too obsessed or infatuated with working on the school newspaper, but the truth is that I’ve enjoyed every moment spent as editor in chief and would do it all over again. Yes, there are times when it can be frustrating.  Particularly when it’s 1:00am and you still have two full pages left of layout, or when the printing company goes out of business and decides not to tell you, but all that aside, the positives considerably outweigh the negatives.            

Not only has my time spent as editor in chief for the past year-and-a-half provided me with skill sets that I know I will use the rest of my life, but it has also given me the opportunity to interact with, and get to know, many individuals from the Siena College community.

             I take everything that I do very seriously, and have treated my position as editor in chief as no exception.  Since freshmen year, I’ve seen The Promethean grow by leaps and bounds to become one of the best college newspapers in the Capital Region (recently winning an award from the American Scholastic Press Association ).  The road to enhance the newspaper has been a gradual process and I am honored to have had the opportunity to be a part of that process.

            Over the past four years, I’ve seen the publication develop significantly.  Not only has the content of the newspaper considerably improved and the staff expanded, but the physical printing quality of the publication has also been enhanced.   I’ve seen it go from an 8 page publication to a more substantial 12 page layout.  It has also remained on a much more definitive publication schedule, producing 15 issues per year.  The advertising department has also been reinvented and has allowed the publication to become much more self-sustaining, providing funds to allow for the purchase of up-to-date software.  In addition, the publication itself has become heavily read by the campus and local community.  This has been a result of the institution of a marketing campaign which included the design of a new logo and the creation of more visible newspaper stands.  In addition, the launch of the on-line edition of The Promethean (www.sienapromethean.com), has made the product more accessible, and has encouraged more interaction and article submission from students.

             I feel very thankful to have had mentors such as Jacqueline Shelburne, who I was able to observe and learn from when I was only a staff writer with The Promethean.  Shelburne showed me what it took in order to manage and produce the publication, and eventually was the one who believed in me, and asked me to be her successor.  I have also been fortunate to experience the guidance and wise-words of wisdom from two advisors.  Both Br. Brian Belanger and Br. Linh Hoang have been important support systems who brought their own experiences and perspectives to the table.  I was also blessed to have had an amazing editorial board who took their jobs very seriously. I could always count on them to get the job done, even when I asked them to do something last minute.  I would also like to thank Janet Gianopoulos from External Affairs for always keeping me in the “loop” and providing me with news tips as well as allowing me access to her photographs for publication in The Promethean.  Lastly, I would like to congratulate Kelly Peckholdt as she takes over as the next editor in chief of The Promethean.  I am confident that Kelly will maintain the first-rate quality of the publication and will bring many of her own ideas and energy to the table.  She is a very talented and charismatic individual who will do great things for the newspaper. 

            After I graduate this May, I will attend the Newhouse School of Communications at Syracuse University where I will work towards an M.A. in Advertising.  As I embark on this next chapter of my life, I will take with me what I have learned as editor in chief and put it to good use.  The Promethean has provided me with the opportunity to enhance my creative, managerial, and communication skills; all skill sets that are necessary to succeed in the career path that I have chosen.  I am very proud of what I have learned and accomplished as editor in chief and, while The Promethean will always hold a special place in my heart, I know that the time has come to move onward.

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

